Invalid Index Exception trying to load Counter Name

perfctr

 

 

This happened to me yesterday, and of course, Stack Overflow to the rescue.  But it’s such a rare occurrence that I thought I would blog about it.  Here’s the SO link

The offending line of code, which was working perfectly for months until yesterday:

cpuCounter = new PerformanceCounter("Processor", "% Processor Time", "_Total", true);

And I hope that “tdc” doesn’t mind me reposting his answer here:

Although this has already been answered, I see people are repeatedly getting the same error that I did when trying to solve it. If when you run:

C:\windows\system32> lodctr /r

you get the error

Error: Unable to rebuild performance counter setting from system backup store, error code is 2

then you instead need to run

C:\windows\SysWOW64> lodctr /r

after which you should get

Info: Successfully rebuilt performance counter setting from system backup store

 

Leave a Reply

